The perfect score book. The Perfect Score (The Perfect Score, #1) by Rob Buyea 2019-07-18

The perfect score book Rating: 7,5/10 1476 reviews

The Perfect Score (Kissing the Enemy Book 3) by Maggie Dallen

the perfect score book

It's not as if the kids don't already have things to worry about. The kids also work on a community service project with their science teacher, Mrs. The book definitely deserves it. As an adult who thinks the standardized testing craze is crazy, I loved this middle grade book. Written in classic Buyea-form, The Perfect Score is wonderfully told from the five student's perspectives.

Next

The Perfect Secret by Rob Buyea

the perfect score book

Gavin, a football-crazy kid, when it comes to reading, he feel as dumb as hid high school-dropout father. But things get ugly before they get better, and in the end, the real meaning of the perfect score surprises them all. It is generally clear from which student's point of view the story is being told but it might be confusing for listeners. Kyle nearly pulls off a first plan with luck, but blows it. And Natalie, an aspir There are problems all around in Miss Woods' sixth grade. The differing narrators provide a wide range of perspectives and enable virtually every kid to be able to relate to someone in the story due to the diversity of characters.

Next

Admin

the perfect score book

What I really think: Mr. Overall, I really enjoyed this book for its character development and how problems were taken care of. Told from five different students' points of view, The Perfect Score chronicles the lives of these kiddos and the atmosphere at their middle school leading up to the annual standardized testing. They are also taught by Ms. From the beloved author of Because of Mr. However, the replacement teacher, Mrs. I like how the kids wrestled with what to do.

Next

Perfect Score Project

the perfect score book

Their story is told in alternating points of view. . Although the students are young, this is a great middle school read. Each child is d Five students, two teachers, one standardized exam, but alas, no partridge in a pear tree. .

Next

The Perfect Score Movie Review

the perfect score book

Trevor, acts tough and mean, but hate home more than he hates school. Each chapter is narrated by one of these students, demonstrating perspective but also providing an opportunity for a Reader's Theater read aloud of the novel. Trevor acts mean and tough and tends to bully but he is a victim of it at home. Trevor, acts tough and mean, but hate home more than he hates school. Maddie is a hyper ball of energy and Ox is the strong, silent type. Highly recommended for purchase for classrooms and libraries grades 4-6. I like how they stood up for one another.

Next

‘The Perfect Score’ by Rob Buyea

the perfect score book

The problems were multi-layered, sometimes subtle, and provide great moral dilemmas about which kids and adults will think deeply. Told from the perspective of five new 6th graders, this one had me in tears at the end. Buyea really, really needs to write a novel about middle school wrestling, preferably from the viewpoint of one wrestler. As the pressure to perform during state testing mounts, the five students reluctantly band together with a risky plan to ace them. It also deals with the very serious issue of too much testing and pressure of state tests in schools today. However, I doubt 8-9th graders would like reading about kids younger than them.

Next

The Perfect Score Project

the perfect score book

Otherwise, the conclusion was well done and satisfying. Highly recommended for all middle-grade readers. The narrative starts at the beginning of sixth grade for these students. Students will definitely find themselves in one of the characters, along with friends and not-so-friendly classmates God bless for writing a scathing indictment of standartized testing disguised as an emotional, adorable middle grade novel. The push to score well on the exam leads to each student making the decision to do just that, even if it means their actions are not exactly on the up and up. So it should also be read by state educational leaders as well as administrators and teachers!! Realizing their planning was overheard in the school toilet by marijuana addict Roy, the buddies take him on board and find he's actually a natural genius without any ambition. Scott is a goofy kid who only wants to help others.

Next

Perfect Score Project

the perfect score book

Terupt series is incredibly popular with my students in grades 4 - 6, and I guarantee that this title will be as well. Woods is forced to stop her beloved read-aloud time because the students have to take practice tests to prepare for the final test, she is heartbroken. Great book for fans of Absolutely Almost, Posted, and Andrew Clements books. But she isn't going to take it lying down. Trevor gets bullied by his older brother and bullies others because of it.

Next

The Perfect Score Project

the perfect score book

A must-add to any middle grade library. Just ask my fifth grade students or the fourth graders who are reading it now. The overall quality of the book is excellent with strong character growth and plot twists that I didn't see coming. I enjoyed the connections that were created throughout the story with the kids, the parents, the teachers and others they meet. The plot was a bit fast and seemed a bit too unrealistic. Woods, eventually wins them over and soothes their wounded feelings. .

Next